Log in

The Americana Music Association UK official website

UK Americana Awards 2020

UK Instrumentalist of The Year

  • Ben Smith
  • Jim Maving
  • Siân Monaghan WINNER
  • Will Page

UK Song of The Year

  • Little Piece of Heaven by Elles Bailey (written by Elles Bailey, Bobby Wood and Dan Auerbach WINNER
  • The Fire by Jamie Freeman (written by Jamie Freeman and Ben Glover) 
  • Hear Your Voice by Danni Nicholls  (written by Danni Nicholls and Kyshona Armstrong) 
  • Amy by Roseanne Reid  (written by Roseanne Reid)

UK Album of The Year

  • Here There’s No Sirens By Pete Gow  (produced by Joe Bennett )
  • Chasing Lights By Ida Mae  (produced by Ethan Johns)
  • Bleeding on the Soundtrack By William the Conqueror  (produced by Ethan Johns)
  • Walk Through Fire By Yola  (produced by Dan Auerbach) WINNER

UK Artist of The Year

  • Jade Bird
  • Bear’s Den
  • Frank Turner
  • Yola WINNER

International Song of The Year

  • Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) By Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real  (written by Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real)
  • Letter to MadelineBy Ian Noe (written by Ian Noe)
  • Saying GoodbyeBy J.S. Ondara  (written by J.S. Ondara)
  • Me and The Ghost of CharlemagneBy Amy Speace  (written by Amy Speace) WINNER

International Album of The Year

  • Undress By Felice Brothers (produced by Jeremy Backofen) 
  • The Highwomen By The Highwomen (produced by Dave Cobb) WINNER
  • Songs Of Our Native Daughters  By Our Native Daughters (produced by Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell)
  • Mint Condition By Caroline Spence (produced by Dan Knobler)

International Artist of The Year

  • Brandi Carlile WINNER
  • The Dead South 
  • Larkin Poe
  • Mavis Staples

Special Awards 

Lifetime Achievement Award 

Selected by the board members, our highest honour is awarded to a UK artist, duo or group in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the Americana genre over the span of their career and life in music. The 2020 recipient is Joan Armatrading

Trailblazer Award 

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates a UK artist, duo or group that has taken an exceptional path, inspiring others to follow in their footsteps in developing the Americana genre. The 2020 recipient is Nick Lowe

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award 

Selected by Bob Harris OBE, this special award celebrates the breakthrough artist, duo or group that has particularly impressed the legendary music broadcaster throughout the year. The 2020 recipient is Ferris & Sylvester

Best Selling Americana Album 

AMA-UK works with The Official Charts Company to create the UK Americana Album Chart. This Award is given to the bestselling Americana Album by a UK Artist.The 2020 recipient is Jade Bird with her album Jade Bird 

Grassroots Award 

Selected by the board members, this special award celebrates the sometimes un-sung heroes of the UK Americana scene. It is presented to individuals working in the industry (in a capacity other than as artists) who have made outstanding efforts to support Americana music from the grass roots up. The 2020 recipient is Mark Whitfield from

Two special awards for our fifth year anniversary were the Legend Award to Lonnioe Donegan and the Outstanding Contribution Award to Whispering Bob Harris OBE


30th January, 2020, Troxy , 490 Commercial Rd, London E1 0HX

© Americana Music Association UK

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software